top of page

APCO International Announces Award Winners

Winners to be honored during Opening General Session at APCO 2021

May 6, 2021

Alexandria, VA – The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Public Safety Communications Awards and Technology Leadership Awards. The winners will be recognized, along with last year’s winners, during the Opening General Session at APCO 2021, APCO’s Annual Conference & Expo, taking place August 15-18 in San Antonio, Texas.

The award recipients demonstrated the highest levels of professional conduct and outstanding performance in the line of duty. This year, APCO received 175 nominations from across the country.

The award winner of each category is:

Director of the Year Stephan Hooke Holbrook Regional Emergency Communications Center Holbrook, MA

Information Technologist of the Year Kevin Biegert Jeffcom 911 Lakewood, CO

Line Supervisor of the Year Deranecque Rogers Memphis Police Emergency Communications Bureau Memphis, TN

Radio Frequency Technologist of the Year Steve Morlan City of Westerville Westerville, OH

Telecommunicator of the Year Kathryn Schmelzer SERESA Roseville, MI

Trainer of the Year Christine Law Kitsap 911 Bremerton, WA

Team of the Year METCOM 911 Woodburn, OR Technology Leadership Award for a Large Communications Center Dekalb County Government E-911 Center Tucker, GA

Technology Leadership Award for a Small Communications Center Chula Vista Police Department Chula Vista, CA

“Congratulations to this year’s winners and thank you for the hard work you do every day,” said Margie Moulin, President of APCO International. “It has been an unprecedented year and we are thrilled to honor this year’s winners for standing strong and serving as heroes to their communities when it was needed most. We are proud of you and all who were nominated this year.”

About APCO International® ( APCO International is the world’s oldest and largest organization of public safety communications professionals and supports the largest U.S. membership base of any public safety association. It serves the needs of public safety communications practitioners worldwide – and the welfare of the general public as a whole – by providing complete expertise, professional development, technical assistance, advocacy and outreach.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Former FCC Chairs Submit Letter in Support of NG911

Today, a bipartisan group of nine former chairs of the Federal Communications Commission called on Congress to make nationwide deployment of Next Generation 9-1-1 a national priority and to provide Fe

bottom of page